Total Solar Eclipse – the moon will make America dark again… momentarily

The countdown has begun. Eleven more days to go to witness the Great American Eclipse.

On Aug 21st I am going to witness my first Total Solar Eclipse here in the US. You are science buff or not so science person, every one of us will witness this unusual event which never happened here in the US in 99 years. This is the first coast-to-coast solar eclipse since 1918. Anyone who is in a 70-mile band that goes from Oregon to South Carolina will experience a complete blotting(for 2min 40 sec) of the sun for a brief period of time.

nasa_eclipse_map
Map credit NASA

This will be my second total eclipse. I had a vague memory of my first solar eclipse when I was a child growing up in India. It was a total darkness, birds started to going back to their nests thinking it was evening… and within a few minutes, the sun was back. Everything was normal, but it was one of a kind event.

Today I was looking for eclipse glasses to buy. While shopping, I came to know about many other facts of this solar eclipse. Here are a few things you may want to know.

Total Solar Eclipse – Everything you need to know

How long will the solar eclipse last?

Here’s what you see where you live – interactive map

Eclipse: Who? What? Where? When? and How?

Solar eclipse glasses – don’t get scammed

Watch NASA Eclipse 2017 live – streaming here or here on Aug 21, 2017

 

